MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 19 May 2023 (7:13 - 8:00 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Faruk Choudhury (Chair) Cllr Irma Freeborn (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Muhib Chowdhury Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole Cllr Michel Pongo Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Muazzam Sandhu Cllr Harriet Spoor Cllr Maureen Worby

Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Josie Channer Cllr Alison Cormack Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Victoria Hornby Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Mukhtar Yusuf Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Nashitha Choudhury Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Manzoor Hussain Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Hardial Singh Rai Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Muhammad Saleem Cllr Jack Shaw Cllr Phil Waker Cllr Sabbir Zamee

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Regina Rahman Cllr Lee Waker Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Paul Robinson

1. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

2. Minutes (27 May 2022)

The minutes of the meeting held on 27 May 2022 were confirmed as correct.

3. Appointment of Mayor 2023/24

The Chair asked for nominations for the appointment of Mayor of Barking and Dagenham for the 2023/24 municipal year.

Cllr M. Chowdhury moved that Cllr Donna Lumsden be appointed as the Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the forthcoming year 2023/24. The motion was seconded by Cllr Ashraf.

There were no other nominations.

The Council **resolved** that Cllr Donna Lumsden be appointed as Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the 2023/24 municipal year.

4. Young Mayor 2023/24

The Chief Executive advised that the Barking and Dagenham (BAD) Youth Forum had appointed a new Young Mayor, Regina Pamba, following its election process in February 2023.

The Leader of the Council conveyed the Council's appreciation to the outgoing Young Mayor, Zubin Burley, for the able manner in which he discharged his duties during 2022/23.

The Council **noted** the appointment of Regina Pamba as Young Mayor for 2023/24.